Telegraph football website innovates with video and Flash

Telegraph football applicationsThe Telegraph is showing some impressive innovation over at its football pages – video highlights of the weekend’s matches is one thing, but more impressive for me is the Flash application that allows you to look at match stats you wouldn’t even get on Sky: preferred passes, ‘density’, orientation (percentage in attack or defence), balls played, possession winning, and even personal statistics for each player. It’s like having your own ProZone.

What the Telegraph clearly understand is just how sad and anal us football fans are. Now I can see that new Bolton signing Jlloyd Samuel made 21 good passes out of 34, whereas the much-maligned Nicky Hunt made 30 from 38. (Next time you meet me, make a mental note not to mention the football.) The Guardian looks very, very flat indeed by comparison.

4 thoughts on “Telegraph football website innovates with video and Flash

  1. Pingback: Telegraph innovates again: A level results GoogleMaps mashup « Online Journalism Blog

  2. Pingback: Why fantasy football may hold the key to the future of news | Online Journalism Blog

  3. Laci Farra

    I precisely needed to thank you very much again. I do not know the things I might have handled without the actual recommendations provided by you regarding my industry. It has been a very intimidating matter in my opinion, nevertheless coming across a new expert fashion you treated it forced me to leap for gladness. Now i’m happier for the work and then expect you recognize what a great job you are always accomplishing training other individuals all through a site. I know that you haven’t encountered all of us.

    Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.